South Bay Surf Series


The South Bay Surf Series is a five-event contest series presented by the South Bay Boardriders Club with the support of local surf shops and businesses.

The contests are open to all surfers with 11 divisions ranging from the under-9 year-old Micro Grom division to the over-50 Legends division. Surfers of all competitive experience levels are welcome to participate in the Surf Series, whether its your first-ever contest or are an experienced competitor looking to brush up on your competitive skills.

All competitors receive a contest t-shirt and free lunch along with other goodies while finalist from all divisions win great prize-packs.

Get Email updates
Sign up to receive Surf Series updates in Your Inbox




How to Enter
There are multiple ways to enter the South Bay Surf Series:


The most convenient way to enter is through our website. The online entry deadline is the Thursday night prior to each event.

Mail or in-person

Download the entry form and mail your entry & payment to us or you may drop off the entry at the surf shop who is sponsoring the contest.

At the Beach

Beach entries are subject to space availability and are honored on the first-come-first-serve basis. A $15 extra charge applies to all beach entries.



Youth Divisions
  • Micro Groms (9 & under)
  • Assisted Micro Groms (9 & under)
  • Groms (12 & under)
  • Boys (14 & under)
  • Juniors (18 & under)
  • Junior Women (18 & under)
Open and Adult Divisions
  • Open Men (all ages)
  • Open Women (all ages)
  • Open Longboard (all ages)
  • Masters (40-49)
  • Legends (50+)

Entry Fees

Youth Divisions (18 and under):
  • Club Member – $30.00
  • Non-Club Member – $40.00
Open and Adult Divisions:
  • Club Member – $40.00
  • Non-Club Member – $50.00

Any additional division - $20.00
*Beach entries are $15.00 extra for all divisions

Frequently asked questions about the South Bay Surf Series

When is the entry deadline?

The entry deadline is the Wednesday prior to the event at 11:45pm.
After the deadline, we will only accept beach entries on a first-come-first-serve basis. No exceptions.

No. Anyone can compete in the South Bay Surf Series. However, members get a discount on their entry fees.

We post the contest schedule on Friday evening prior to the contest.

The assisted Micro Grom division allows a parent/coach to accompany the competitor into the lineup to push and assist with catching waves during the heat.
This division was created because surfers in this age group are at various levels of development including the ability to catch waves on their own within the short timeframe of a heat.


Current Surf Series Ratings

RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Eddie Lester1000010000
2Dylan Melamed85008500
3Jamie Meistrell72257225
4Nathaniel Scribner61416141
5Jesse Chacon52205220
6Derek Aubrey44374437
7Wil Reid37713771
8Andy Prunauer37713771
9Brad Gross32063206
10Mark Jimenez32063206
11Kyle Beatty27252725
12C. J. Dombrovskyi23162316
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Sara Kohrogi1000010000
2Emily Seth85008500
3Natalie Anzivino72257225
4Emily Flavin61416141
5Sue Wilkinson44374437
6Jordan Wible44374437
7Emma Waldinger27252725
8Chloe Klineman27252725
9Hali Honea23162316
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Kyra Williams1000010000
2Jordan Wible85008500
3Megan Seth72257225
4Sara Kohrogi61416141
5Charlotte Sabina52205220
6Amelie Vergnolle44374437
7Chloe Klineman37713771
8Sophia Arky37713771
9Hali Honea32063206
10Emily Flavin32063206
11Emma Waldinger27252725
12Lauren Friedrich27252725
13Emily Seth23162316
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Codee Stamis1000010000
2Chad Parks85008500
3Kyle Beatty72257225
4Clay Norian61416141
5Joe Duerr52205220
6Cody Purcell44374437
7Matt Hodges37713771
8West Adler37713771
9Alex Fry32063206
10Jake Johnson32063206
11Wil Reid27252725
12Matthew Amano27252725
13Sean Ely23162316
14Nate Baker23162316
15Bryce Snaguski23162316
16Matthias Kelterborn23162316
17Ryan Ulrich19691969
18Hunter Bernard19691969
19Robert Bixler19691969
20Greyson Dunn19691969
21Bram Sprokkereef16731673
22Drake Brown16731673
23Brendan Miller16731673
24Cade Bruno16731673
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Chad Parks1000010000
2Alex Fry85008500
3Beck Adler72257225
4Kieran Walls61416141
5Sam Reichel52205220
6Sebastian Kuhr44374437
7Zach Rosenberg37713771
8Nathaniel Harris37713771
9Chase Coppedge32063206
10Luke Humphrey32063206
11Joshua Terry27252725
12Matthew Hahn27252725
13Joey Samuelian23162316
14Shane Frontino23162316
15Alek Wilson23162316
16Carlos Price-Gracida23162316
17Beck Cherry19691969
18Spencer Paine19691969
19Charlie Winkworth19691969
20Greyson Dunn19691969
21Rodney Buck16731673
22Briggs Peus16731673
23Trey Mahan16731673
24Kyra Williams16731673
25Shane Moseley14221422
26Calvin Hoffman14221422
27Troy Gleason14221422
28Taylor Dalmau14221422
29Wade Nygren14221422
30Joshua Belofsky12091209
31Trevor Khan12091209
32Cooper Tendoesschate12091209
33Anders Sprokkereef12091209
34Dilon Swartzlander10281028
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Beck Adler1000010000
2Joey Samuelian85008500
3Karsten Wanke72257225
4Finn Bertino61416141
5Billy Atkinson52205220
6Jake Rosenberg44374437
7Matthew Hahn37713771
8Jake Chandler37713771
9Kieran Walls32063206
10Shane Moseley32063206
11Grant Brugma27252725
12Cash Cherry27252725
13Teddy Stavropoulos23162316
14Luke Slanina23162316
15Lance Brugma23162316
16Kierra Fedio23162316
17Brielle Anderson19691969
18Kelly Murphy16731673
19Thomas Southey14221422
20Chris Connor14221422
21Carlos Price-Gracida14221422
22Ada Frandsen14221422
23Rhett Messer12091209
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Jake Chandler1000010000
2Cory Bergmann85008500
3Karsten Wanke72257225
4Stone Seligson61416141
5Enzo Kerley52205220
6Finn Bertino44374437
7Kai Kushner37713771
8Magnus Frandsen37713771
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Griffin Fields1000010000
2Alexa Niemann85008500
3Thor Kowal72257225
4Jonny Herrouin61416141
5Winfield Gurney52205220
6Miles Venegas44374437
7Ava Miller37713771
8Gavin Turner32063206
9Fynn Wanke23162316
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Warren Kushner1000010000
2Patrick Murphy85008500
3Scott Whitmer72257225
4Dave Schaefer61416141
5Bob Sievers52205220
6Greg McEwan44374437
7Todd Brooks37713771
8Jimmy Papik32063206
9Jason Leeds27252725
10Brad Gross23162316
11Kris Vensel23162316
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Mark Silva1000010000
2Steve Compas85008500
3Mike Purpus72257225
4Doug Smith61416141
5Troy Campbell52205220
6Otts Akamine44374437
7Bob Sievers37713771
8Kevin Cody37713771
RatingNameTotal PointsEvent 1Event 2Event 3Event 4Event 5
1Johnny Hjorth1000010000
2Dave Schaefer85008500
3West Adler72257225
4Greg McEwan61416141
5Troy Campbell52205220
6Ed Soltz44374437
7Steven Wilson37713771
8Clint Spinella32063206
9Joshua Terry27252725
10Beck Cherry23162316
11Frank Mazzotta23162316
12Rodney Buck19691969